2019 Banquet is Sept 21 at Mill Creek Fire Hall. Tickets are required.

League History

Midway History

Midway was founded in 1965. The league operated on a number of school and parkland fields before consolidating at the current Forest Oak/YMCA complex.
      Despite being one of the smallest leagues in Delaware's District II, Midway has had many strong all-star teams, especially between 1989 and 2001. Here is a rundown of the top all-star teams in Midway history:
1. The 1996 Senior All-Stars won the District II title, the Delaware State Championship, the Eastern Regional Championship, and finished 3rd in the World Series in Kissimmee, Fla.
2. The 2001 Major All-Stars won the District II title the hard way, winning 7 straight games in the losers bracket, then won the Delaware State Championship, and went 2-2 in the Mid-Atlantic Regionals in Bristol, CT.  In Midway's first game at the Regionals, they faced a team from the Bronx, NY and a pitcher named Danny Almonte.  Almonte threw a perfect game and led his team to the World Series.  It was later determined that Almonte was actually 14 years old and all of their games were forfeited.
3. The 1989 Senior All-Stars won the District II title, the Delaware State Championship, and came in 2nd in the Mid-Atlantic Regionals.
4. The 1994 Junior All-Stars won the District II title and came in second in the Mid-Atlantic Regional.
5. The 1993 Major All-Stars won the District II title but lost in the state finals.
6. The 1995 Junior All-Stars won the District II title but lost in the state finals.
7. Midway won District II 10 year old titles in 1991, 1992, and 2007.
8. Midway won the District II 9 year old title in 1998.
9. Midway won the Brandywine Invitational for 11-12 year olds and the Midway Invitational for 13-14yo in 2001.
10. Midway won the Canal Invitational for 13-14 year olds in 2004.

    Midway has never had a player reach the Major Leagues, but has had several play in the Minor leagues. Bob Lenoir is the only Midway player to be drafted (by the Rangers).  Pete Grasso was the NCAA Division 3 Player of the Year in 2017.  Midway also has had one player in the NHL (Mark Eaton who won a Stanley Cup in 2009 when he played for the Penguins) and one in the NFL (the late Chris Gedney who played for the Bears and the Cards).


The George Conaway Memorial Trophy
The George Conaway Memorial Trophy is given in memory of George Conaway who was a long-time volunteer at Midway as a manager and Umpire-in-Chief. Mr. Conaway managed the 1978 Senior All-Star Team and passed away later that year. All 16 year old players in the Senior Division will be considered based on their volunteer time to Midway, outstanding sportsmanship, leadership, citizenship, and number of years played at Midway. The selection committee consists of the Senior Division VP and Senior Division Managers.

Previous Winners
1979 - Eric Pirhalla
1980 - Brian McGrath
1981 - David Eller and Paul Lloyd
1982 - Bernie Alimenti
1983 - David Hartert
1984 - Tom Colberg and Gary McCracken
1985 - Mike Gilbert and Bill White
1986 - Sean Waynant and John Ferguson
1987 - Chris Scherer
1988 - Lou Hines and Woody Janvier
1989 - Joe Bradley, Vince DiFurio, Jamie Wilson
1990 - Andy Hunter
1991 - Mike Chupka
1992 - Matt Dauphin
1993 - Jason Reiter
1994 - Ryan Ward
1995 - Mike Good
1996 - John Warren
1997 - George Heinly
1998 - David Harden
1999 - Ryan Fortner
2000 - Michael McGrady
2001 - Corey Schwartz
2002 - Joe Fowler
2003 - no award given
2004 - Anthony Peel
2005 - Evan Lewis
2006 - Billy Crowe
2007 - RJ Budynkiewicz
2008 - James Wilson
2009 - Adam Crowe
2010 - Bryan Cardona
2011 - Brett Berta
2012 - no award given
2013 - Troy Berta
2014 - Kevin Allen
2015 - no award given
2016 - Tim Metzler and Alex Dowd
2017 - Matt Pierce
2018 - Shane Wenrich

Local Sponsors

Copyright © 2019 Midway Little League  |  Privacy Statement |  Terms Of Use |  License Agreement |  Children's Privacy Policy  Login